“if New Zealand win the toss and bowl, I think they’ll bowl out India cheaply”-Shane Bond

With just a few days lefts for the final match of ICC World Test Championship, many experts have poured in their views on the big event. Former New Zealand pacer Shane Bond too shared his inputs on the much awaited match as he believes Kane Williamson led team will bowl India out cheaply if they win the toss and opt to bowl first on June 18 in southampton. Bond considers the Kiwis to be a stronger team and believes the side will end up dominating the game if Kane Williamson makes the call wisely.

During a virtual press conference with Star Sports, Bond stated – “…if New Zealand win the toss and bowl as well as they have. I think they’ll bowl out India cheaply and that ain’t a bad thing,”

“The risk is if they (New Zealand) don’t bowl them out, India have got two world class spinners and are right in the game.

“So, it’s the toss that is going to be huge. And that first innings is going to be huge,” he said.

He stated that in this match, New Zealand will go with five fast bowlers. Whereas the Indian team will land with three pacers and two spinners.

“I think New Zealand are going to win. Game practices going to have a massive impact. I think India have got a balanced bowling attack. I think they’ll play three seamers and two spinners,” Bond said.

“I think New Zealand will play five seamers, and I think they’ll win the toss and they’ll bowl first,” he added.

New Zealand has an edge over India as the side got to play two Test matches against England ahead of the WTC final while India did not get a chance to play till the practice match on English soil.

New Zealand WTC final squad: Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner BJ Watling and Will Young.

India WTC final squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin. Ravindra Jadeja. Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj.

Similar Posts