IPL 2022 Auction: Charu Sharma makes Huge Blunder, Robs of Mumbai Indians bid for Khaleel Ahmed and gifts him to Delhi Capitals

The mega auction for IPL 2022 took place in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13. The big event witnessed all 10 franchises spending lavishly, close to Rs. 550 crore was spent on players to assemble powerful teams for the upcoming mega tournament.

However, during the auction, an unexpected accident took place which took everyone by surprise. IPL auctioneer Hugh Edmeads collapsed on dias and the auction was paused for a while. But, Charu Sharma, who is a well known personality in the cricket fraternity and being an experienced sports presenter, he came to BCCI’s rescue and assumed Hugh’s responsibilities after being called at very short notice.

Charu did a brilliant job with the proceedings but during the course his mistakenly sold Indian pacer Khaleel Ahmed to Delhi Captials instead of Mumbai Indians who had made the highest bid for the cricketer.  MI were first to initiate a ₹5.25-crore bid for the pacer, following which DC co-owner Kiran Kumar Grandhi raised paddle for ₹5.5 crore but immediately backed out. However, Charu was in a state of confusion and then made a blunder as he stated that Delhi Capitals have bid 5.25 crores for the Khaleel despite MI already having bid the same amount for the pacer, whose base price was Rs 50 lakh.

Mumbai Indians squad for IPL 2022: Rohit Sharma (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Mohd Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Aryan Juyal, Fabian Allen.

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2022: Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, Rishabh Pant (c), Axar Patel, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Sarfaraz Khan, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungi Ngidi, Tim Seifert, Vicky Ostwal.

Similar Posts