BCCI announces squad for WTC final

On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the final squad for the much awaited World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand. The big event is scheduled between June 18 – 22 at Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

Nine nations competed in the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship that began on August 1, 2019, during the Ashes Test at Edgbaston, Brimingham. Over the two years course, the nine teams engaged in the most thrilling showdown with India topping the Points Table with 520 points while New Zealand settled at second place with 420 points.

BCCI announces squad for WTC final
Image credit – ICC

The big day will see Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill opening for India, while Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul missed the squad. Cheteshwar Pujara, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane and Ravichandran Ashwin have found a place in the team. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who did not play the home series against England due to injury, has also been picked. 

After missing the home Test series against England, Hanuma Vihari has also found a place in the squad while the Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha have been included as the men behind the stumps.

The bowling department will see Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav as the fast bowlers.

The final squad:

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin. Ravindra Jadeja. Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj.

Similar Posts